Beautiful Foolishness

I’m trying to let go of a lot of things/thoughts lately, just to be freeeeeee. I don’t like apathy, but I don’t like being attached too much to what happens to me? And so yesterday, I went to a yoga class at Wooden (UCLA’s gym), and duuuude, I LOVE those last 10 minutes of stretching and lying in meditation (or you know, just sleeping..). I felt SO good after that, that I made an impulse decision to watch The September Issue at Melnitz Theatre. You should def go watch it, ’cause it’s really eye-opening and wondrous. Super similar to Devil Wears Prada, except it’s REAL! Apparently it’s cinéma vérité, which is a type of documentaries that’s supposed to be more natural? Anyway, it is great, and the director held a Q&A session afterwards, and that was also really great! Great stuff come out of impulse decisions. :)

And today I spent my morning listening to my Top Rated playlist on the roof of Boelter, trying to really “dream of evanescence and linger in the beautiful foolishness of things.” It worked pretty well. Roofs (ROOVES??) just work so well for me, ’cause I like wind and clouds and breaking rules (though I don’t think it’s really a banned spot..?). I like being high up, ’cause the world looks small, and the things I get upset about when I’m down on the ground seem pointless and totz whatever. Tooootz McGoats.

I’m doing this thing where I don’t sleep at 4am. It means I have to leave my phone on my desk, ’cause it’s too tempting to go on iPhone AIM and/or play Minesweeper when it’s lying next to my head. It’s actually really hard for me not to take my phone up with me to bed. ∴ I need to break some dependence chains!

Anyway, I like that everything’s foolish and extremely pointless in the long run, but that it’s all so nice. “Beautiful foolishness of things” doesn’t mean that the things are beautiful because they’re foolish, but that the fact that everything is foolish is kinda sorta beautiful. It’s very romantic (2. of, characterized by, or suggestive of an idealized view of reality) and I love it.

Leave a Reply

